Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Britney New

I feel for this post I shall take a less ranty approach to the subject matter. I mean its about time I didn’t complain about something!

This will also be more of an open post so seriously any of you that are reading this, talk to me. I don’t bite too hard and it’ll be nice to get some form of conversation going.

As I’m in my final year of university I have no know consider graduate jobs aka ‘big girl’ jobs as I like to name them. While sat in one of my classes a friend of mine stated that university was the worst three years of their life. The lecturer replied that a bad situation can always be turned around and at least they now know they don’t want to pursue a career in PR but they have countless media contacts. We ended up in a discussion that if going to university didn’t make our; parents, school teachers etc proud would we have really pursued this pathway into adult life?

This got me thinking…Have I really spent three years of my adult life working my butt off just to keep my mum happy? Part of me will answer yes immediately as if you’ve ever met my mum you know to keep the lady happy at all times and the work load these past three years have pushed me to hell and back which has made me seriously consider leaving multiple times. But after all the hard work and the slogging through countless essays, I’m at a place in my life where I am happy. I’m working at two PR agencies part-time and hopefully I’ll be getting a full-time job working in PR when I finish.

Yes its been difficult and yes for some people typical education isn’t the best route so my advice is to you lovely readers is follow what your heart wants and not your brain. Go on adventures and live or work your arse off to say you’ve made it, either way make sure at the end of the day you go to bed with a smile on your face.

 

